top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Red Wheelbarrow Poetry

The Song of El

Mike Cope


Note: El was the chief Canaanite deity in pre-Biblical times. He had a wife, Asherah. He and their children, the Elohim, were assimilated into the later

conceptualisation of God, but the all-male priesthood appears to have left Mrs God out. The poem is from my novella, The Fall of Ugarit.


How can I speak of Asherah

when there was neither an I who could speak,

nor an Asherah to be spoken of,

when there was only a single life?

How can I not speak of Asherah

when I must speak,

and there is nothing else

that can be spoken of?

How can I compare her

to the pomegranate or the rose?

Apples and dates are useless for similes.

Pure milk is sour beer, fresh dew is mud.

She was my day and my night.

When I opened my eyes,

it was her image that filled them.

When I closed them, it was to dream of her.

I was the right side, and she the left;

she was the front and I was the back,

each giving meaning to the other,

each nothing without the other.

She brought the rain in from her blue sea.

I plucked it from the clouds

and watered all the flanks

of Mount Saphon and beyond.

When I was lost among the oaks

on the flank of Mount Saphon,

she came for me.

She led me to the best path though I didn’t know it.

When I came to the Mountain,

she was already there.

She caught me in her noose.

She tethered me at the summit,

helpless beneath the Sun and the Moon.


Featured on 16 September 2021


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Little Yellow House

Phelelani Makhanya There is a little yellow house at the corner of the street, where the jacaranda has painted the paving purple. Every morning the house appears with a new face. Its walls look untouc

Naughty Greens

Basil du Toit The rude vegetables are up to no good again, succumbing to irresistible inflations, their growth-tips, tautly congested, full of pregnant suggestion and promise; mutating buds, tinglingl

Evening Song (Durban)

Ari Sitas After a day of stoning and gas an ancient chore beckons by the ocean’s lip - a crowd heaving, heaving, sifting through the sand for coins A happy bulldozer resting after eating up another ro

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page