top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Red Wheelbarrow Poetry

Portrait of a Mother and Indiscretion

Sindiswa Busuku


My mother smells of indiscretion

– in fact she smells of strange

things. Not camphor or ZamBuk;

not of anything familiar.


My mother walks slowly,

crossing the bedroom in high-

heeled shoes. In my grey window

I see the sky. In the sky the moon

is round. She hides her smile

behind the curtain lace and

whispers, “My child sees

everything.”


I’m waiting for her to hang her

winter coat. I am eager to

glimpse her body. Her buttons

fall away. She is kneeling at my

bedside, upright. Her hand on

mine. It’s raining. She is

lipsticked and caressing my face.

The moon is dead. Her hands

don’t feel the same anymore. The

stars have gone out. I turn and

bite her sad hand; she flies

backwards. I am loud and yellow

laughter. I whisper back, “My

mother wears a disguise for my

eyes only.”


My mother is an old woman. She

is no longer young. Yet I smell

her indiscretion. I have smelt it

on her for days. She has been

laughing and smiling without

restraint.


Featured at The Red Wheelbarrow on 4 October 2022


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Little Yellow House

Phelelani Makhanya There is a little yellow house at the corner of the street, where the jacaranda has painted the paving purple. Every morning the house appears with a new face. Its walls look untouc

Naughty Greens

Basil du Toit The rude vegetables are up to no good again, succumbing to irresistible inflations, their growth-tips, tautly congested, full of pregnant suggestion and promise; mutating buds, tinglingl

Evening Song (Durban)

Ari Sitas After a day of stoning and gas an ancient chore beckons by the ocean’s lip - a crowd heaving, heaving, sifting through the sand for coins A happy bulldozer resting after eating up another ro

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page