top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Red Wheelbarrow Poetry

In the Orthopeadic Ward

Updated: Jun 9, 2021

Jacques Coetzee


I brought so much here with me today,

so much I wanted to put down

as I walked into this hospital to find you:


the invisible wounds I carried,

and the way I’d invested in them

in order to be right about something, anything;


whatever I know about negotiating

for power or leverage;

the necessary ways of listening

suspiciously, learned from Marx and Freud and Nietzsche

and their beautiful, high-minded children;


the swaggering confidence that comes

from being the new thing, the bright, beautiful stranger

with the golden key that can unlock the castle—

that, that most of all.


Ah, but you know as well as I do

that you can’t put down your past or your learning,

can’t put down anything much at all.

And even so, I walked into the room

feeling lighter, estranged from my voice;

strange enough not to know

what to say, how to hold you.


And all I remember clearly of that visit

is the astonishment I felt—

my one hand gently holding your bionic knee,

humming James Brown to you under my breath,

slightly breathless, slightly out of tune:

“I feel good,

And I knew that I would.”


Featured on 15 April 2021

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Little Yellow House

Phelelani Makhanya There is a little yellow house at the corner of the street, where the jacaranda has painted the paving purple. Every morning the house appears with a new face. Its walls look untouc

Naughty Greens

Basil du Toit The rude vegetables are up to no good again, succumbing to irresistible inflations, their growth-tips, tautly congested, full of pregnant suggestion and promise; mutating buds, tinglingl

Evening Song (Durban)

Ari Sitas After a day of stoning and gas an ancient chore beckons by the ocean’s lip - a crowd heaving, heaving, sifting through the sand for coins A happy bulldozer resting after eating up another ro

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page